h1

THE MARAZENE MACHINE: “We Remember Kristov”

October 26, 2009

RIP Kristopher "Kristov" Kemp: 10.28.74 -- 01.26.09
Source: Myspace.com/Marazene

Taken from THE MARAZENE MACHINE’s Myspace blog:

As most of you have probably heard by now we lost our brother Kristopher “Kristov” Kemp a little over nine months ago to a hard fought battle with colon cancer.

Kristov would have been 35 years old today (10.28) and as per a band tradition that dates back to the beginning of our band we would have been in the process of celebrating birthday week (and more often than not – birthday month) as well as having a show lined up for whoevers birthday it happened to be.

But not this year.

All told it’s been a very strange year. It has definitely been strange not having Kris around. That and sorting through personal issues and trying to figure out when Kris was going to be able to jump back in the mix full-on. We never really planned for this without Kris. So this year has all been new ground for us.

We had to come to a new place – a new starting point.

One of Kris’s last messages to me in the final weeks was the following: “Just keep things movin along no matter what.. We got too much ridin on this to just give up ya know…”

I think about Kris and his enduring positivity every day when I wake up. It keeps me going. Gives me clarity and strength on darker days.

For those of you who didn’t know, I met Nikk through Kris. And what we have accomplished together is something I consider uniquely special and something that would not have been possible on my own. For that I am eternally grateful for.

MARAZENE was as much Kris’s dream as it was ours. And through all the good times and the bad we endure. For Kris, for ourselves, and for each other.

For those of you who have been emailing and commenting and asking – the answer is YES – there IS new music. There’s a lot. And it’s ready. More on that in the coming weeks…

But for the time being – thank you for reading. And thanks again for your continued support as we have figured out our next move.

~ DieTrich
The MARAZENE Machine


Kristov performs “AnTiThesis” with MARAZENE @ Chicago’s legendary Metro Cabaret on 06.17.07

Its been 9 months now since my brother and partner and bandmate for 8 years passed away.

kris was 6 years older than I. And we became friends in 1996 when I was 16 years old. We met at a keg party thru a mutual friend. He was wearing a Fear Factory demanufacture shirt and I won the keg stand competition. Lol and it all took off from there.

Its strange that there are still times when I think of something and quick reach for my phone to text him and realize that he isn’t and will never be at the other end of the line. Of course its been very difficult and painful at times, but in recent months its become more about remembering him and our times we’ve shared together.. As well as a kind of standard or status quo.. The thought frequently passes thru my mind of ‘what would kris think of this’ or ‘what would he say/do’. I’ve always thought of him as a loyal and ‘down’ person. If something wasn’t being handled in the ‘right’ or ‘proper’ way, he’d stand up for what was right!

I remember COUNTLESS times when I was younger, when someone was bein a fuckn prick to me, or wronging me in some way, playing on my lack of experience or confidence, he’d step right the fuck up and shut them the fuck down… ALWAYS! He ALWAYS had my back.. That is SO rare. He was a BROTHER. Someone you KNEW you had in your corner no matter what!!

I feel these days an overWHELMING urge to ‘make right by him/make him proud’ by continuing his legacy and NEVER falling short of the quality standard that kris wouldve allowed. Its like he’s still here. He IS here always in the souls and minds of everyone his life has touched. And we will NEVER let them forget…

-Nikk
The MARAZENE Machine

MARAZENE circa 04.21.06 from l to r: Kristov, Stiph, Thrall, Gash, Skum - backstage after A Pearl Room performance with American Head Charge. This picture was taken only weeks before Kris would be diagnosed with cancer.

MARAZENE circa 04.21.06 from l to r: Kristov, Stiph, Thrall, Gash, Skum - backstage after A Pearl Room performance with American Head Charge. This picture was taken only weeks before Kris would be diagnosed with cancer.



——-
——-


Leave a Reply

